History & Leadership

The Lexington County School District One Educational Foundation was established in 1994 as a 501(c)(3) organization that serves as a source of funds to support Lexington County School District One programs and initiatives which are outside the scope of the district’s Annual Fund budget. It is governed by a board of directors comprised of Lexington District One parents, local business leaders, district school board members, the district teacher of the year, the district superintendent, and caring community leaders.

Our Foundation Board of Directors has grown from the original five members to the present group of more than 20 community leaders. The board hired the first executive director in 2003 and this position continues to lead the Educational Foundation, along with its dedicated board members, the superintendent, district trustees and staff. The Educational Foundation Board of Directors meets quarterly throughout the school year and holds special meetings as deemed necessary.

Since its inception, the Educational Foundation has been a continuously growing and evolving support arm of the district. The alternative sources of funding generated through the Educational Foundation have focused on a variety of important initiatives, including grants for schools, teachers, and students; scholarships for graduating seniors; financial help to families in need; and innovative educational programs that enhance students’ learning experiences in Lexington County School District One.

Most recently, the Foundation has supported literacy efforts through its Bucks for Books Grants; funded creative educational programs via our Innovation Grants for K-8 Schools; supported teachers with the Michelin Golden Apple Teacher Grants; and increased students’ learning through WP School Garden Mini-Grants. Annually, the Foundation honors the top graduating seniors through its Celebration of Excellence in Education banquet. Furthermore, our high school seniors have the opportunity to apply for numerous Foundation scholarships, thanks to individuals who want to leave a legacy and assist our students in their pursuit of future dreams. We also provide numerous types of financial support to our Lexington District One families in need. Help us strengthen educational opportunities and experiences for our students by making a gift to the Lexington One Educational Foundation today!

Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Lisa McMeekin Phillips


Mr. Christopher J. Goumas, III

Vice Chair

Ms. Rosemary L. Wilson

Immediate Past Chair

Mr. Randall M. Cooper


Libby Roof

Lexington One Chief Communications Officer & Ex-Officio

Board Members

Mr. Michael L. Boone

Mrs. Katrina D. Bryant

Mr. T. David Chao

Ms. Harriet Poe Coker

Mr. Rod K. Dooley, Jr.

Ms. Angela C. Douda

Ms. Kathryn W. Henson

Lexington One Board of Trustees Liaison

Mrs. Katherine Handell

Lexington One Teacher of the Year ’23-’24

Mr. LaMyron Jenkins

Mrs. Brandi Snyder Keefer

Mr. Bryan C. Jones

Mr. Brandon A. Mogan

Mr. Vandan K. Shah

Dr. Scarlet Raymond Taylor

Ms. Michelle McLaughlin White

Ms. Rebecca West

Mrs. Bridget Wintson

Honorary Board Members

Mr. James A. Compton

Dr. Karl E. Fulmer

Mr. Richard J. Hook

Mr. Michael V. Shealy

Mr. Michael S. Wingard

Foundation Staff

Julie Anderson Washburn

Executive Director

Heather Young Johnson

Executive Secretary

Tracy Rouillard


Ashley Summers

Marketing Coordinator