Lexington One Educational Foundation Awards $16,800 in Scholarships to Outstanding Lexington District One Seniors 

July 1, 2020

July 1, 2020, LEXINGTON, S.C. — The Lexington County School District One Educational Foundation proudly awarded 15 scholarships totaling $16,800 to deserving Lexington District One seniors. Each scholarship award was announced at the corresponding high school awards program, all of which were held virtually this year as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. 

The foundation staff received 91 scholarship applications from outstanding Lexington District One seniors who planned to further their education with a 2-year or 4-year college degree. Criteria for each of the Educational Foundation scholarships vary, yet each application specifies these details. 

Foundation Executive Director Julie Anderson Washburn shared, “We are extremely grateful to the families who have established scholarships with the Lexington One Educational Foundation, as they are an immense benefit to our amazing Lexington One seniors who receive an award. Scholarship funds are a wonderful way to carry on a personal legacy or to memorialize a loved one. Each year these scholarships assist our student recipients in paying for part of the expenses associated with pursuing a college degree, which is a huge financial investment.” 

The Foundation awarded 2020 scholarships to the following Lexington District One seniors: 

  • Gilbert High School – Aaron James Berry and Jesus Zavala; 
  • Lexington High School – Emma Grace Jordan, Loni Marie McKenzie, Emma Grace Powers, Jacqueline Taylor Spires and Gracen Elizabeth Torbett; 
  • Pelion High School – Lee Trevor Padgett, Alan Fernando Pilero Ramirez; 
  • River Bluff High – Tucker Thomas Riddle; 
  • White Knoll High – Murray Andrew Newell. 

Our Lexington One Educational Foundation Scholarship funds specifically include the following: 

  • Curtis G. Bell Memorial Scholarship 
  • Nate Boyer Memorial Scholarship 
  • Thomas Day Caughman Memorial Scholarship 
  • Elaine & Ellison Kaiser Scholarship 
  • Noah Kneece / Pelion Young Farmer Scholarship 
  • Perrin R. Love Memorial Scholarship 
  • Perrin “Ricky” Love Memorial Scholarship 
  • Carrie Mayer-Cowan & Benjamin Mayer Memorial Scholarship I 
  • Carrie Mayer-Cowan & Benjamin Mayer Memorial Scholarship II 
  • Elsie Rast Stuart Scholarship 
  • Ernestine & Walter P. Rawl Scholarship 
  • Sale Cromer Memorial Scholarship 
  • Lewis Nathaniel Simpkins Memorial Scholarship 
  • Joshau Torrence Team Spirit Award Memorial Scholarship 
  • Woodrow & Edith Worthy Ministerial Scholarship 

For more information about the scholarships offered by the Lexington One Educational Foundation, please visit our website (Lexington1.net/EducationalFoundation). To learn more about how you could leave a legacy by establishing a scholarship to benefit Lexington District One students, please contact Foundation Executive Director Julie Anderson Washburn at 803-821-1008. 

Congratulations to all of our Lexington District One seniors who were awarded Educational Foundation scholarships this year! 


invested in Lexington District One in fiscal year 2022-2023


All K-2 students benefited from the Counting Collections for Mathematics Grant


Awarded in Scholarships and/or Higher Education Grants