Foundation Congratulates & Recognizes Fall 2018 Michelin Golden Apple Teacher Grant Winners 

August 21, 2018

August 21, 2018: Congratulations to the Fall 2018 Recipients of the Michelin Golden Apple Teacher Grant Awards! Ten grants were awarded totaling $2,330 that will positively impact 1,684 students in these seven Lexington One schools. 

  • Forts Pond Elementary – H. Lizzy Siceloff and Matt D. Weber 
  • Lexington Middle – Elizabeth E. Carter and Vicki L. Gadecki 
  • Meadow Glen Elementary – Shannon B. Frye 
  • Oak Grove Elementary – Sarah M. Avila 
  • Saxe Gotha Elementary – Haylee G. Boltjes and Catie Hooker, and Ginger M. Hackett 
  • White Knoll Elementary – Beth W. Banco 
  • White Knoll High – Danielle N. Tarvin 

Biannually Michelin offers this grant opportunity to our teachers in Lexington School District One through their generosity to the Educational Foundation. Teachers can apply for up to $250 of support to enhance unique educational experiences for their students. The intent is not to supplement normal school supplies, but to allow for more creative learning opportunities that are not typically supported by the school supply budget. 

Each of the award recipients were recognized for this honor at the August 21, 2018, Board of Trustees meeting. Some of this fall’s Golden Apple funded projects included the purchase of Ozobots to develop and enhance students’ coding skills, cultural videos to enhance 6th grade Spanish teaching efforts, and supporting a “STEAM” Night to encourage learning in science, technology, engineering, arts and mathematics. 

Please be sure to congratulate these teachers and their school administrators for this accomplishment! We greatly appreciate Michelin’s continued generosity and commitment to Lexington One teachers and students in partnering with us to offer these terrific educational opportunities! 


invested in Lexington District One in fiscal year 2022-2023


All K-2 students benefited from the Counting Collections for Mathematics Grant


Awarded in Scholarships and/or Higher Education Grants