2019 Joseph M. Bedenbaugh Administrator of the Year Award

May 22, 2019

May 22, 2019: On Tuesday, May 21, 2019, the Lexington One Educational Foundation presented the 2019 Joseph M. Bedenbaugh Administrator of the Year Award to Ms. Jennifer Stanley. Established by the Foundation in 2005, this award recognizes an outstanding and deserving administrator in the district, while also honoring an esteemed administrator, the late Mr. Joseph M. Bedenbaugh, from the original Lexington School District One staff of 1952. 

Mr. Bedenbaugh worked in the district for 36 years serving as a seventh grade math teacher, principal and assistant superintendent for personnel and federal programs. He was also a World War II veteran who served in the United States Air Force. The Foundation honors Mr. Bedenbaugh as its leadership presents the award to a contemporary administrator in May of each year. 

Ms. Jennifer Stanley has exhibited outstanding servant leadership, passion and commitment to education in Lexington School District One for more than 20 years. She began her career as an Instructional Assistant, moved on to teach fourth and second graders, served as an assistant principal, and now serves as the Principal of Lake Murray Elementary School. Colleagues described her intelligent, strong, and having the ability to engage with teachers in a way that pushes them to be the best versions of themselves. She makes children feel hear, important, and believe they are capable of amazing things. Ms. Stanley’s passion for reading is shared with students and her staff and has created a very strong literacy program at LMES. 

More than 50 individuals surprised Ms. Stanley that evening when they showed up to help celebrate the award presented to such a deserving Lexington One administrator. Mr. Bedenbaugh’s son, Mackey, was there to represent his family and extend personal congratulations to Ms. Stanley. 


invested in Lexington District One in fiscal year 2022-2023


All K-2 students benefited from the Counting Collections for Mathematics Grant


Awarded in Scholarships and/or Higher Education Grants